Sugar Bowl Resort Reviews


28 review(s) listed, post a review.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews(4.50) Overall
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing/Snowboarding rating reviews(4.57) Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value prices rating reviews(4.14) Value / Prices
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews(4.46) Service
Sugar Bowl Resort Dining / Bars rating reviews(3.82) Dining / Bars
Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Great Resort
12/30/2012 by: Anonymous

Hello! Today I visited the Sugar Bowl ski resort, and although it was very busy, I was very satisfied with the service I received. The parking was great and I had access to a spot right in the front, and I was able to ski all day long on the reliable lifts. Was a great overall experience, and I highly recommend.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Holiday Turkey Dinner
12/24/2012 by: Anonymous

The only reason i rate 4 in any category is because im a cheapskate and cringe at the price of food and lift tickets. Awesome all around resort though! They offered a turkey dinner for the holiday which i liked. For only $7.50, got a huge plate of all the fixins you're used to seeing at a thanksgiving or christmas feast. Was enough to split the plate and still fill me & my brother up!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews first resort as you make your way up the mountain.
12/08/2012 by: corey groves

The storm did us right The mountains are white And conditions are great So theres no need to wait It's the best place to be If you board or you ski So come free your soul ...........With Sugar Bowl ;)

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Hiighly Recommend Sugar Bowl
04/05/2012 by: Anonymous

We were skiing at Sugar Bowl yesterday, April 2nd. Plenty of snow, very friendly and helpful staff, great skiing terrain for all levels. Try their General Admission Days - with a purchase of a lift ticket, you can rent skis/boots/poles for free and take a two hour group lesson for the price of the lift ticket. What other resort can you find that deal at. Sugar Bowl has been great for years, great yesterday and I look forward to my next ski day at Sugar Bowl.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Great Resort
11/18/2011 by: Anonymous

My favorite resort. Never lines, wonderful ungroomed runs and lots of mountain to explore. My only wish is that they had a kid's program other than the lessons and ultra intense ski team. A more laid back weekend kids program would be great. Otherwise a beautiful place to ski.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews best all around resort
12/27/2010 by: Kyle Nelson

this place has it all. a good park good intermediate and expert runs.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Great skiing
02/15/2010 by: Anonymous

From the top of Mt. Disney or Mt. Lincoln get off the lift and head right. Keep going through the snow fence (it's allowed) to the double black diamonds. Beautiful tree runs, nice little chutes, fluffy snow - fabulous. After playing on those runs I can do nice long, curvy blue runs with my six year old. Great overall place to ski that's not too crowded.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Sick powder day
01/09/2010 by: Matt Carlson

When you hit Sugar Bowl on a powder day, it is Epic. There are endless chutes, rocks, cliffs and cornices to fling yourself off of, steep faces to carve fresh tracks down and plenty of hidden gems to go off and scout for. The crowds are manageable if you stay on the Disney and Christmas tree chairs. The crowds at the Mt Judah lift have gotten nuts, so, if you are not interested in the park, than stay away. When it's not fresh pow, then Sugar Bowl becomes a little restricted, There are not a ton of groomers, so your day can get pretty repetitive. With that begin said, Sugar Bowl is a fun place to snowboard and it makes to a good day tripper if you are coming from the bay area because it is the closes resort and you don't need to deal with the Donner pass when driving conditions are tough.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Awesome place to ski
12/29/2009 by: David Curiel

This is a great place to ski with your kids!! Great value for your money!!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Fun for trick learners!
12/18/2009 by: Anonymous

great place for trick learners since there's different hills on sides and boxes to jump over or rails but during spring the snow can freeze up and turn into ice and gets reall slippery on some hills so have to be careful during those times!

but a fun place with many different trails!!!!!!! BEST PART!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Sugar Bowl is great
12/07/2009 by: Anonymous

On powder days Sugarbowl is wonderful. Great little side trails that make you feel like your not in a big resort.

Overall there's a nice laid back feeling with several nice lodges. Good ski school as well.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Sugar Bowl is great
12/02/2009 by: Anonymous

One of my favorite resorts in tahoe. On powder days there are some amazing gentle runs through the trees you can pick up from the top of the mountain. Makes you feel like you're skiing alone in the woods. For more technical skiers there are also plenty of cliff areas that scare the hell out of me, but others seem to enjoy. Overall just a great day of skiing with lots of variety. Only downside is there isn't much lodging nearby and staying at the lodge itself is crazy expensive.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews colorado in ca
11/23/2009 by: sean

Some of the storms that hit this front side of the sierras is some of the best powder anywhere!!!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Fun Place to ski
11/09/2009 by: Douglas Kepler

Sugar Bowl is a fun place to ski. There is a wide variety of terrain for all skiiers. If you can catch a storm out of the north and it is dry snow the powder is awesome. I know its been awhile since we have seen a good northern storm out of the Gulf of Alaska but when they do hit, the powder is awesome. I have hit some great powder there. Since this resort is further from Lake Tahoe than the other resorts there isn't as much moisture in the snow and that spells drier powder. And with the upgrades that the resort has done the chair rides to the top are super fast. Have FUN and have a blast

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Awesome resort to ski and relax
11/05/2009 by: Julie

Sugarbowl is a great resort to take your kids to ski. I taught my son two years ago at Sugarbowl and he keeps asking when are we going back mom? The runs are well groomed and we can ski all day mixing up which runs to take. Some other resorts you can get tired of skiing the same runs over and over again, but not Sugarbowl. This resort has something for everyone and every skill level. Great place to have fun!!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Sugar Bowl is So Sweet!!
03/09/2009 by: Anonymous

Wonderful family type ski area, with lots of snow! Great grooming, lots of variety in the terrain, with something for every type of skier. Fast lifts, and even on Sunday, not too long of a wait in a lift line. Oh, forgot the boarders. Nice terrain park away from the skier traffic, with great music. Not too far from Lake Tahoe, and a great alternative to some of the more famous areas.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Good times, Bad times
12/15/2008 by: Brian

The snow makes a huge difference at this resort. Good snow=superfun, but bad snow=blech. Great runs, friendly staff (but not quite badger pass), and about average food and beverage.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Last Season This Place Was Great
11/19/2008 by: Anonymous

Last season 2007-08, Sugar Bowl offered free lessons with a purchase of a lift ticket. My skiing improved dramatically and I had a great time. Learned a little about skiing backwards, doing 360 circles on the slope, and making long arc'ing turns. Hope Sugar Bowl offers free lessons again this year. I know that all of the students were promising to come back to Sugar Bowl, especially to keep using the skills we learned on the same slopes we practiced on.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Why drive further?
04/27/2008 by: Jim

I love Sugar! This is the up and back spot from the Bay Area. There is a lot for everyone - good park with some nice hits, and the rest of the area includes chutes, groomers, and bumps. It is a big area, and there are three peaks to explore. All of the big lifts are express, and the lines tend to be much shorter than the more popular resorts. The lodge is historic, and the gondola ride to it is almost worth the Premium by itself, and the lodge is on mountain.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Fast Lifts!
03/14/2008 by: Antonia

Sugarbowl makes sure you get the most runs for your money with the help of their speedy lifts! You can't go wrong spending a full day here!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews crunchy flakes with plenty of milk
02/28/2008 by: Troy Giroux

if only I had had yesterday off... but after the little bit of crust softened up it was great. a friend got a great wax from podium productions and the water and fresh apple I bought were reasonably priced. once it opened the park was in great condition with more features to come. all in all excellent day, way better than our first plans for donner ski ranch. final though : stomp the x-ing

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Mt. Judah Lodge
02/11/2008 by: Anonymous

Sunny days and the outdoor patio near the ski lifts and slopes make an unbeatable combination. Staff are friendly. But, what happen to the free microwave that was in the dining area?

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews OK
02/07/2008 by: Seth Rickles

Decent snow but too pricey all the way around. Almost had to donate a kidney to buy lunch for us. Like the surrounding scenery, very beautiful setting.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Great Rides At Sugar Bowl
01/15/2008 by: Anonymous

A great day for taking the family. Clean Conditions, well marked trails. Decent prices. Sugar Bowl Rules.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Awesome runs!
01/09/2008 by: Antonia Roman

Great place for a challenge out on the slopes!

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Best of the cheaper alternatives in Tahoe
12/14/2007 by: Rahul

The biggest advantage of sugar bowl is that its the closest resort to the bay area.. By a good 45 minutes. Its good skiing with the occasional poling required in the flats. On a good day I can spend the whole day up and down mt disney. And if you are lucky, youll get to see someone huck the palisades.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews I love sugarbowl
12/14/2007 by: Anonymous

I really do love Sugarbowl. It has the greatest service and the best snow in the world. I love the runs: they last forever. Sugarbowl is the greatest ski resort for snowboarding and skiing. Especiallyfor first timers. Beginners are able to pick up snowboarding easily.

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Sugar Bowl Resort rating reviews Sweet, right?
11/27/2007 by: Spicerack

Sugar Bowl makes me tired, but that is good. Runs all day long, and then you are tired. All the lifts are expresses, the mountain has something for everyone, from chutes and steeps to bumps, jumps and cruisers, and the park is excellent. The first Chairlift in CA was put in there by none other than Walt Disney, and he was onto something. The lodge is old and cool too...

More Ratings:
Sugar Bowl Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Sugar Bowl Resort value rating reviews Value
Sugar Bowl Resort service rating reviews Service
Sugar Bowl Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars