Monarch Mountain Reviews


26 review(s) listed, post a review.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Monarch Mountain rating reviews(4.65) Overall
Monarch Mountain Skiing/Snowboarding rating reviews(4.73) Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value prices rating reviews(4.38) Value / Prices
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews(4.54) Service
Monarch Mountain Dining / Bars rating reviews(3.73) Dining / Bars
Monarch Mountain rating reviews Unsatisfied
03/17/2014 by: Anonymous

Monarch Mountain once was a place for locals to go and grab cheap beers and a cheap lift ticket and ride with their friends. Now it is becoming an overpriced tourist trap. with their recent price changes on season passes and lift tickets they and running away the local people. It is not worth it to go there for 65 dollars. I didnt ride here for 10 years because it had awesome terrain parks or cool slopes. i rode there because i could ski for a day without breaking the bank and now days thats what is all about. The bank!!!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews awesome powder
02/27/2014 by: Anonymous

lots of great powder, great for skiers. Was pretty crowded on Sunday and lots of Traverse flat parts not fun for snowboarders

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews good for beginners
01/06/2014 by: Gabrielle Haynes

Good customer service. Food was not that great. Good runs especially for families and beginners.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Finally, need snow making.
11/24/2012 by: randy

Looks like a sketchy winter again. I hope they can get the water rights for snowmaking - SOON.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great Place to Ski or Ride
01/06/2012 by: Anonymous

A beautiful place to ski - on the divide and very laid back. The staff and the nearby town of Salida are both great - friendly and reasonable with lotsa smiles.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great Skiing and easy access
01/05/2012 by: Robin

Monarch has always been a favorite place to go for the whole family!! Prices are reasonable and the resort is centrally located and easy to access. Monarch has great runs and the temperatures are always nice too. For these reasons and many more, we enjoy Monarch the most!! Colorado's best ski resort!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great snow at Monarch
01/04/2012 by: John Siewierski

I have been here on several occasions and the snow has always been from good to great. Once we skied powder that was so deep and dry it just laid back in its tracks. The local vibe in Salida and Pocha Springs a makes it truly a Colorado gem and one you need to make sure to visit.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews great memories
12/14/2011 by: Anonymous

I remember monarch fondly, a couple of instructors from Taos headed up for a ski school clinic one snowy mid march day. Drove hours in the snow before dawn. Monarch was powdery, quiet, uncrowded. It was so easy to look good carving with all that creamy snow. Can't wait to go back again.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great Snow Conditions
12/09/2011 by: Anonymous

Hit Monarch mountain after I bought a discount military pass from Peterson AFB and it was well worth the 2 hr drive. The lift lines we very short and the snow conditions had a light dusting of powder on top of packed powder. it was a great time had by all from beginning skier to the experienced boarder. Felt like we were the first ones to run that day although we werent. Perfect day trip.. need to book a room and spend the night next time!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great Place to GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!
09/29/2011 by: DEREK SKAGGS

WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!!!!!!!!!!! PEOPLE, FOOD, ENTERTAINMENT WAS GREAT.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Beginners experience
02/20/2011 by: Anonymous

. At 45 and never set foot in more than 3 inches of snow , I was recommended Monarch. Used more by locals and less expensive/ commercial than other resorts.

I found this completely true. It was a great atmosphere with so many wiling to tolerate and help a complete novice.

The instructors were friendly and loved what they did and cues for lifts weren't silly either. At the beginning of the day the indoor areas were very busy, but once you got outside it was easy to lose the crowd

But if just starting out or if you love skiing and don't want to pay silly prices or be around the"got the gear but have no idea" crowd then this is your place.

I was amazed how much I enjoyed it. Never thought I'd say it cause I really thought I'd never be able to ski. Just did 2 lessons and I was able to feel confident on green slopes.

Well hope I have inspired anyone who is slightly tempted to ski, cause believe me , if I can do it anyone can!!!!!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews great weakend at monarch
01/26/2011 by: marc

we were the fisrt chair up, than hike the ridge to drop in mirkwood bowl. the snow was deep and fast. not alot of people for a weekend. always a good time at this mountain. downside lifts are old/slow

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews a little butterfly told me
12/19/2010 by: Anonymous

If you want a ski area and not a resort feel this is the place to be. Great skiing in a beautiful mountain setting. A wonderful experience.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Beautiful and Friendly!
11/23/2010 by: Anonymous

Small, friendly with the best snow around!! Beautiful scenery!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Sweet memories
11/17/2010 by: Anonymous

Our favorite family memory is of monarch when I was 8 years old. We had a picnic in the snow, and I remember liking the mountain so much that I asked to return for my 9th birthday. Sadly, we did not return for my 9th birthday, however I did for my 20th! Not only was it fun but it are also runs to challenge the expert skier within me. I had a great birthday, and plan on spending future birthdays at monarch. Great snow, great people, great mountain!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews HOME AWAY FROM HOME
11/05/2010 by: GREG MIRANDA

MAYBE I JUST LIKE BEING A "BIGGER FISH IN A SMALLER POND." MONARCH IS LIKE HOME AWAY FROM HOME...IT'S JUST GOT THAT FEEL TO IT. WITH CONCERNS ABOUT THE FAMILY STICKING TOGETHER AND STAYING SAFE, YOU NEVER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THAT AT MONARCH. OH, AND DID MENTION THE SNOWBOARDING IS AWESOME!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Terrific for families!
03/03/2010 by: Anonymous

Not as much terrain as the larger places - but you can't beat Monarch for the price. Our family ranges from an extreme skier to one that did her last day of ski school just last weekend. There's something at Monarch for all of us and we don't go broke for a day on the slopes! The kids found some "tree runs" and had a ball.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Monarch Rocks
12/15/2009 by: Anonymous

Monarch is one of the better small resorts in Colorado. It is sometimes hard to get to (roads can get real bad easily).

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews AWESOME!
12/11/2009 by: Anonymous

This places offers everything for everyone no matter skill level on skis. Mirkwood Basin is incredible, so is the cat skiing. They have an amazing terrain park, one of the longest I have ever seen. I first skied Monarch when I was 8. I begged to go back for my birthday in March because I was having so much fun. And the snow was great then too!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews great rides
11/03/2009 by: bobby

If you like the freedom of free riding, without the hassle of waiting to get on a lift this is your mountain. There are a few spots all of the time that you can carve your own fresh tracks in, if you don't believe me, find out for yourself!!!!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Great snow conditions
03/14/2009 by: Paul W. Storey

I've spent eight days at Monarch this year. Had a blast. Great snow, no lift lines. A little more crowded on Fri, Sat Sun, but still no lift lines. I watched my son ski down gunbarrel from my table in the restaurant. It was awesome! I'm coming back for another week of spring skiing with my brother, Jim Storey, who is a seasons pass holder who lives in Buena Vista, CO. I've had my fun over the years skiing at places like Breckenridge, Jackson Hole, Keystone, Alta Snowbird and Brighton. But at 58 years old, I like to leave the big crowds behind and ski at a truly locals resort with no hassles.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews "Pleasant Surprise"
03/05/2009 by: Bob Dendy

In my opinion, Colorado snow is better than Utah snow...the higher altitude and colder temps make it better! Monarch has both these qualities along with no lift lines, friendly staff, and lift ticket prices that don't require a co-signer! Providing spectacular views atop the Continental Divide, Monarch has all the terrain variety you could want. Pure skiing pleasure with a "hometown" feel! I'll be back!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Beat the crowds
01/05/2009 by: Ross Miller

Monarch is a great place to get a way from the crowds of the usual ski resorts. With affordable pricing and shot lift lines, Monarch offers great 100% natural snow for those who love fresh powder. Terrain parks and beginner slopes allow those of all experience level to have fun.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Closest to home and quality!
12/23/2008 by: Anonymous

Living in Colorado Springs makes for close to 2 hours of driving to board anywhere. Monarch is pretty close and has a family feel to it. Lines are usually pretty short and the conditions are great. The only down side...If it's snowing hard, the pass can be dangerous driving.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews The Best Kept Secret!!
11/23/2008 by: Anonymous

I have been to several ski resorts in Colorado, but Monartch Mountain is my all-time favorite. Lift line waits and prices are way lower than other pkaces, but the trails are still great for all levels. Highly recommended!!!

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Monarch Mountain rating reviews Real Colorado
09/19/2005 by: Greg

I found a place that is still about the skiing/riding not about real estate and shopping in Colorado. Monarch Mountain is in the middle of the state and is still unspoiled. There is tons of natural snow and no lines. Monarch is smaller than most Colorado resorts but it makes up for it with fantastic terrain; 800 lift served and hikeable acres and another 770 acres of Snowcat accessible terrain atop the Continental Divide. The area is completely hassle free, you drive right up and get on the lifts. Right down the road is the cool town of Salida, CO; lots of hotels good restaurants and friendly bars. Monarch is a nice change of pace from the mega-resorts, you should check it out next visit west.

More Ratings:
Monarch Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Monarch Mountain value rating reviews Value
Monarch Mountain service rating reviews Service
Monarch Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars