Ski Sundown Reviews


27 review(s) listed, post a review.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Ski Sundown rating reviews(4.30) Overall
Ski Sundown Skiing/Snowboarding rating reviews(4.44) Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value prices rating reviews(3.93) Value / Prices
Ski Sundown service rating reviews(4.41) Service
Ski Sundown Dining / Bars rating reviews(3.78) Dining / Bars
Ski Sundown rating reviews AMAZING!
03/01/2014 by: Carrie

I visited on Thursday 2/27/14 and had a fantastic time. There were possibly 30 people on the mountain at any given time and the conditions were AMAZING. Everything was groomed to perfection and the staff were friendly and fun. I cannot wait to go back before the season is over.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Great Time!
12/30/2013 by: Shawn McAuley

Great night skiing with my 3 friends! Only place around for that and reasonable price. Lots of fun!! Conditions pretty good, too.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews First ski of the season
12/24/2013 by: Anonymous

First ski of the season this past Saturday. Was a little wet due to warming weather but had a great time overall. Everyone was welcoming, great service, great ride. I stayed 4 hours longer than I meant to--exhilarated.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Packed Powder my A$$
02/26/2013 by: Anonymous

Raining out and has been all night yet they report Packed Powder. Croneck miss representation by Sundown all the time. When will they learn people want to make decision based upon there reporting and when they mislead you we will make the decision to stop coming. not worth what they charge

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Excellent conditions - in spite of the weather!
02/10/2012 by: Anonymous

In spite of the lack of "real" snow, Ski Sundown has done an excellent job of snowmaking and grooming. It is 100% open - and so much FUN!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Pretty good
10/15/2010 by: Anonymous

it was pretty good. learned how to ski here,and eversince loved the sport. Great place to ski!!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews AWESOME TIME
03/03/2010 by: Dana Ross

We had so much fun!!! My family and I went and the conditions were WONDERFUL!!!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Great Place to board and ski
01/22/2010 by: Joanne

The best in Conn. You will love it!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews fun place and had a great time
01/20/2010 by: Anonymous

I really enjoyed my day at sundown because I can use my 8-hour lift ticket starting at any time of the day. I also like the fact that this mountain has night skiing which a few of the other mountains do not have. In addition, it is fairly close to home, and it has a variety of different slopes and trails including moguls, a terrain park, and even pretty nice black diamond trails. I enjoyed this mountain very much except for the fact that the terrain park was mostly closed last time I went due to competitions.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews quick trip to some fun!
01/20/2010 by: mark

This mountain is fun because its not three hours away like the VT mountains, its not that high of an elevation but its still alot of fun to ride. Snow is generally softer because its a bit warmer and I had alot of fun in their terrain park. However the terrain park could use some new rails in it.

This is a great mountain to take a new rider to.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews "Nice local ski area"
01/03/2010 by: Anonymous

Nice local ski area with friendly staff. Definitely look forward to coming again. Saves a lot of money instead of heading to vt ski areas!!!!!!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Great Day Trip
12/30/2009 by: Anonymous

Pretty close to home. Lodge is nice for the people when not skiing or snowboarding. Terrain park good for beginners and intermediate boarders. Snow is great. Not too crowded.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Can't wait till it opens!!!!
12/07/2009 by: Dana Ross

I cannot wait to go this year with my two kids!!! We have so much fun and we do not have to travel far at all!!!!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews AWESOME
11/16/2009 by: Dana Ross

I live in Connecticut and I go here with my two boys every winter. I taught both my kids how to ski here. What I love best about this place is that you get a big resort feel without a far drive. The bunny hill is great to learn on because it has several levels to it so beginners never get bored. If you are an expert you can have a great time with beautiful groomed slopes.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Friday March 6th
03/09/2009 by: Anonymous

What a gorgeous day! There were about 30 of us on the mountain between the hours of 9 and 1 and the conditions were amazing. The snow was fresh and soft and coverage was excellent. Every trail was open and the trails were very well groomed with small mogul fields and big jumps being prepared for the weekend. Let's hope the weather this week equals snow for Ski Sundown instead of the predicted rain and sleet!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Fun Place
03/06/2009 by: Dana Ross

I really love going here!!! However I think they need to have specials for family's. Especially with today's economy. I would ski a lot more with my kids but I just can't afford to go every week. My son's would live out there if they could so it is a real bummer when we can't go all the time. I do think this place is the best place to ski in CT. The hills are groomed well and I love the size of the mountains. However the food needs some work. Very pricey bring your own.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Awesome place!
01/28/2009 by: Donna

Love going mountain is perfect for snowboarding many hills to pick form.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews FIRST TIME SKIING
01/21/2009 by: Anonymous

FOR FIRST TIME SKIING, THE INSTRUCTORS WERE VERY PATIENT. WENT A LITTLE FAST FOR MY 6 YEAR OLD. SOME OF THE RUNS WERE TOO ADVANCED THAT THEY TOOK THE 6 YEAR OLD ON. SHE WAS VERY NERVOUS. THE MOUNTAIN IS GREAT FOR SPECIAL OLYMPICS WHICH WE PARTICIPATE IN AS FAMILY. THE FOOD IS VERY EXPENSIVE AS IS THE SKI SHOP FOR LAST MINUTE THINGS. FIRST TIME SKIIERS ALWAYS FORGET SOMETHING. OVERALL WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK, GET A LONGER LESSON, AND MAKE SURE THE INSTRUCTOR IS A PROPER FIT FOR THE CHILD. BRING YOUR OWN SNACKS AND WATER BOTTLES.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Awesome boarding
01/19/2009 by: Anonymous

I've been coming to Ski Sundown for over 6 years now and it is absolutely a wonderful place. This is where I learned to snowboard and the snow conditions are great. The variety of trails is also good and offers something for everyone...from beginner to advanced.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews beginners and convience
01/05/2009 by: enrgizergmg

if you looking for a place in ct to ski or board this is def the best place to go. the conditiions are typically good although by mid afternoon icey conditions predominate most of the trails. for those just learning there is plenty of low angle slopes and for the novice a terrain park that outdoes those of mohawk and southington mountains. good luck riding!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Unbelievable Snowmaking & Grooming!!!
12/23/2008 by: Anonymous

Close to Hartford & Fairfield county, Ski Sundown is a great place to go for a day of skiing! When you look outside and think there couldn't possibly be snow for skiing, try Sundown - they have fantastic grooming and lots of SNOW!!! I'm always amazed as I round the bend and see a ton of snow on the mountain...

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews "Best Mt In CT"
01/27/2008 by: Anonymous

Ski Sundown is a sick mountain if you live in CT, its like a mini Vermount. The trails are different from any other Mountain in CT by not all looking the same. Mohawk and MT southington trails all look alike which get boring after a while. Ski Sundown also has a sick Terrain park for snowboarders and skiers unlike the other Mountains. Lastly the lifts are quick, lines are most the time short depending on if its a Saturday or Sunday, and the food and staff are great. Being a snowboarder i like this mt the best out of MT southington and Mohawk overall the best Moutain to go to in CT.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Friendly Atmosphere
12/31/2007 by: Melissa Wargin

We are planning our return for January 2008 and I just wanted to write that in the beginning of 2007 our 4 year old was able to ski with my husband on the slopes. The staff was very friendly and genuinely seemed interested in our child's happiness. Thank you for the experience and we are planning our return for Jan. 2008.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Little vermont
11/23/2007 by: james Montana

Just a great place to ski in conn. I call it little Vermont......Great area

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews a graet park to shred
08/28/2007 by: mike dulac

ski sundown has an excellent terrain park that has many graet jibs and jumps for any level rider. Also has a really good kidy terrian park for begginers getting into freestyle or just having fun skiing everything.

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Great spur of the moment trip
02/12/2007 by: Anonymous

I decided to go to Ski Sundown on a Saturday night. I had hoped to make a bigger trip this year, but due to school, and work schedule could not. I like Ski Sundown because it is close and not too expensive. The snow was good, on about a foot base. I first skied Sundown as a middle school student. It was fun to go after school. I still think of Ski Sundown when I want to go close by. The only reason I did not give Food and Beverage a "5" is because I really did not eat all that much there. Just a drink. Thanks for giving me this chance to win free lift tickets!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Sundown rating reviews Not bad considering the weather!
01/25/2007 by: Audri Cid

I think Ski Sundown is doing a great job being 100% open considering the Northeast has only had barely 1 inch accumulation all year. I was surprised to see them operating at full capacity and liked that there weren't any ice patches. Last night, 01/23/07, I went down Tom's Treat, Papoose, and Over Easy. My husband raced on Gun Barrel. He said that run was a bit icy due to all the racers skiing the same course.

I also have to comment on the customer service. I had gotten a pretty big blood blister from buckling my boots and the manager of the cafeteria gave me a band-aid. I appreciated that!

More Ratings:
Ski Sundown Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Sundown value rating reviews Value
Ski Sundown service rating reviews Service
Ski Sundown dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars