Tyrol Basin Reviews


15 review(s) listed, post a review.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Tyrol Basin rating reviews(4.27) Overall
Tyrol Basin Skiing/Snowboarding rating reviews(4.40) Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value prices rating reviews(4.07) Value / Prices
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews(4.40) Service
Tyrol Basin Dining / Bars rating reviews(3.87) Dining / Bars
Tyrol Basin rating reviews Excellent for all levels
02/07/2014 by: Anonymous

Great place for all level skiiers. The runs are short but the lift wait is short and the intermediate and expert runs are fast and challenging, as an expert skiier that has skiied everywhere, I personally prefer Tyrol Basin to the larger area resorts for advanced skiing. The snow conditions are also usually better at Tyrol. A great place, a great value for every level skiier.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Super Area
02/16/2013 by: Lin Feller

After a 22 year absence of skiing, I decided Tyrol is the place I want to pick it back up again. The staff were very encouraging and friendly. I found the area to be a bit steeper than other areas I had skied years ago like Devils Head. The place is a challenge as you can pick up a lot of speed going down the runs. I've done very well I think in the 5 trips I've been so far this year. I'm hoping to make it to closing. The mid week $12 lift ticket value is also great. I'm on layoff status and this fits my budget just right. All in all I cannot get enough of Tyrol and can't wait till I ski there the next time. I generally hate winter, but skiing at Tyrol has made me like winter again.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Better Than I Remember
01/02/2011 by: Dad&Son

My son skis here all the time with school ski club but I haven't been here in about 5 years and was pleasantly surprised. Got in some night skiing on Dec. 29 before the rains came. Still very short, but snow conditions were great and no lines. Variety of terrain was nice too. Boarders seem to love this place, but skiing is pretty decent, too. My son brought a friend and they had free rentals that night, an unexpected bonus. Given that Tyrol is about the same distance from us as Devil's Head and Cascade, this is still the 3rd choice, but not a bad one. With all of the snow they had, they should have weathered the rain and warm temps over the last couple of days just fine.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Great terrain
02/01/2010 by: Anonymous

Great for terrain park but not so much for the downhill but overall a good place to go for a day.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Awesome Slopes
01/20/2010 by: Dave McGowan

Tyrol Basin is perfectly built for Snowboarding and Skiing! It has a variety of slopes, so that the beginner as well as a seasoned veteran will find ideal conditions. The clubhouse is warm, the lifts fast and safe. Everybody loves Tyrol!

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews A Nice day out
12/29/2009 by: Anonymous

Had a great time at Tyrol Basin. First time back this season and it was COLD! The snow machines were running at full blast and the resort looked like it was being run very efficiently. Loved the Bloody Mary's after a few hours on the slopes. Can't wait to get back on a warmer day.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Great place for the thrill seakers.
11/12/2009 by: Anonymous

I went to Tyrol Basin twice last season and I had a blast. That place hooked me up to skiing. I am still a beginner and felt a little overwhelmed by the long steep slopes (I am used to Illinois baby slopes). I ended up venturing into double diamond by mistake. That slope is scary good. Tobel is a long and intermediate slope. My favorite. If you are a beginner like me try the long rope (trollway). It is safe and a lot of fun. I am so looking forward to $12 tuesdays and friday nights. The place is located only 20-25 minutes south/west of Madison. I advise you to use a GPS to find the place because if you don't follow good directions you will get lost past Mt.Horeb.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Always great.
03/06/2009 by: Mike

I skied the afternoon on 3/1/09. The hills just had a competition but were in good shape. The customer service is always good with a courteous staff.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Good but packed
02/05/2009 by: Anonymous

Has many different park obstacles, rails, halfpipe, boxes, walls, rock cliffs, mogels. The lifts are a little slow and on the special nights (12 dollar tuesday and friday night late night), its packed. Food is awesome and decently priced. Rental service is backed up some days and not much room inside. Good beginner hill, but it also gets a little backed up.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Haven't Skied in over 10 years....until now
01/19/2009 by: Anonymous

I bought the beginner skier package for 49.99 which included rentals, 4 hour lift ticket, and 1 hour lesson. By the time I left I was racing down the hill (ok so it was still the easy hill, but I had progressed pass the rope tow!!!) Pretty good if you ask me! I have not skied in about 10 years so I was nervous to say the least. Our instructor was great and positive as were all people working at Tyrol. Even other skiers and snowboarders were friendly! When first getting acquainted with the chair lift again they even slowed it down when asked! A great day and a great little bar to enjoy a beer after a few runs! Overal great value and a great day of skiing!

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Uncrowded and Controlled
01/19/2009 by: Laura

This is my second time here. Loved that the slopes were uncrowded. Great beginner place for adults and children. Everyone at the resort was courteous and helpful. Ski Patrol even gave me some great pointers. The lesson we too was great and helpful. Can't wait to bring the kids.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Tyrol Basin for beginner snowboarder
01/05/2009 by: robanne

This was my first time snowboarding and Tyrol Basin proved to be a good place to learn. My friends and I (all 28 years +) took a deal that included rentals, an hour lesson, and additional 4 hours of lift ticket for 49.99 each. Sign-in and payment was quick and easy. The rental process was smooth and we had all our gear in under 10 minutes. Our lesson started on time and when our group proved to be too big an additional instructor came out to help and divide the group into two. The hour lesson was extend 15-20 minutes to make sure well on our way to snowboarding. While I wish there was a little easier lift hill the rope tow hill we learned on proved to be sufficient, while there were other rope tow hills we didn't use them (rope tows and snowboards are a difficult trick). Overall our group had a great first day. Two of the four of us were racing down the big hills and the other two of us were feeling really confident by the time we left and looking forward to our next trip.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Great time for Snowboard Learners
01/05/2009 by: Anonymous

We took beginner lessons on snowboarding...4 adults and two 7 year olds. The adult lesson was pretty good. Lots of one-on-one. We started at 10am, so the place wasn't so crowded. The kid's lesson was fantastic. I felt the kids were safe and well taken care of. The beginner areas were just fine for those of us learning!

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews Fun for beginners
12/06/2008 by: Cathy

This is a fun place to go if you don't want to travel far from Madison and want to spend some time on the slopes. I recommend snowboarding here or skiing if you are a beginner. If you are an expert skier, it's not challenging, but still good for getting out on your skis. Snowboarding is good either way.

I also like the bar here alot.

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Tyrol Basin rating reviews AWESOME SNOWY wonderland
02/23/2008 by: Anonymous

AWESOME TERRAIN PARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

best terrain park near madison wi

my favorite hot spot

More Ratings:
Tyrol Basin Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Tyrol Basin value rating reviews Value
Tyrol Basin service rating reviews Service
Tyrol Basin dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars