Ski Butternut Reviews

Great Barrington, MA  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Ski Butternut Reviews

34 Ski Butternut Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Ski Butternut rating reviews(4.50) Overall
Ski Butternut skiing terrain rating reviews(4.50) Skiing / Terrain
Ski Butternut value prices rating reviews(4.47) Value / Prices
Ski Butternut service rating reviews(4.29) Service
Ski Butternut food bars rating reviews(4.12) Dining / Bars
Ski Butternut rating reviews FAMILY SKI
02/26/2013 by: Anonymous

lots of families, hope faster people are careful of others.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great New Year's Eve skiing!
01/03/2013 by: Shawn McAuley

Great day to ski with friends home from college! Weather is good, trails are groomed, recent snowfall made packed powder conditions pretty good. We were able to ski 8 hours for a reasonable price. It's the best resort outside of Vermont and close enough to home to go last minute. The upper lodge is really nice and large, too. Food is a little expensive, but lots of choices. Try Ski Butternut - you will enjoy it!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great time!!
08/17/2012 by: Marie

Great place to go if you are just learning or a seasoned pro!! Awesome family place, plenty of different terrain types to keep everyone happy and exhausted by the end of the day!! I can't wait to return. :-)

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Awseome family resort
01/22/2012 by: Anonymous

Great place to bring a family. There is something to do far all ages. Whether you have little ones or teenagers, there is a hill fit for any experience level! and plenty of parking!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great time at Butternut
01/05/2012 by: Anonymous

We had such a great time skiing Butternut last year. Tons of trials open, and lots of runs to choose from. Never waited to long in lines. Very family friendly and good prices on lift tickets and food. We had a great time and cant wait to return this year!!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Fun Family Ski Area
01/02/2012 by: Anonymous

I have taken my two kids to Butternut twice so far this season and they love it there. It is really family friendly place with lots of choices of trails. The ski/snowboard school reasonable priced and the kids have learned a lot already. We plan to go several more times.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews The Park is awesome
12/27/2011 by: Anonymous

Best Terrain Park in the region. Always dialed, great flow, guy giving the lips love all the time, changing features around nightly keeps it exciting. These guys get it done on a regular basis. Dec. 26th and they have 11 features. No one else close - comes close!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Love to ski here
01/19/2011 by: Carol Von Achen

Great family mountain!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Needs to manage Lift lines better
01/17/2011 by: Anonymous

Good sized nountain for pre-teens/teens. They need to improve managemnt of lift lines. The chaos at lifts is terrible.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Incredible
01/17/2011 by: Dana Ross

This is my favorite place to ski!!! My son loves to snowboard here. The conditions are awesome. This place has a great family environment and so well kept.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews FUN TIME
01/10/2011 by: Dana Ross

My family and I go here all the time. It is so much fun and the slopes are AWESOME!!!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews A nice way to spend a Friday afternoon
01/08/2011 by: Anonymous

With our kids finishing school early due to forecast snow, we headed to Butternut for the afternoon. It was lightly snowing when we arrived, and the snow continued though until closing time. The base lodge and the mountain were uncrowded, with no lines at the two lifts serving the main trails (Top Flite and Highline quads). My 6 year old headed to the beginner area and Paddy's lift, and was thrilled to find that the operator on duty was Will. Will is a legend around the beginners area, and a real asset to the mountain. It was *NEVER* a problem to help get my son onto the chairlift. Will knows how to treat his customers right - I wish that other resorts had employees like him. Conditions were sweet. No icy spots, plenty of groomed man-made snow, and the natural stuff falling through the afternoon added maybe an inch and a half of extra to the surface. Definitely a good afternoon. At $25 for an adult ticket you can't beat it for value skiing mid-week Monday to Friday !

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews great place
01/07/2011 by: jo

Great for the whole family! any age! ski conditions always wonderful!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Awesome
01/05/2011 by: Joanne

Awesome for all ages. Great beginner hill for the little ones. and huge hills for the experienced.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great Terrain Park
01/05/2011 by: Patti McAuley

Great Terrain Park! Lots of fun. Wish it was open for night skiing. Great value for the money! Wish Junior was older than 14.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Family Fun
12/31/2010 by: Dana Ross

Went for the 1st time with my family!!!!! The best conditions because we just had a big snowstorm. Can't wait to go again!!!!!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews butternut
11/22/2010 by: Anonymous

allright this place isnt very big but its great place for massachusetts its got a good terrain park but no the best trails. the line can be long at time but the costomer sevice is great and its a fun time at butternut

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Consistently good snow conditions
11/05/2010 by: Anonymous

I always find great snow when visiting Butternut. Consistent.. Well Groomed.. a well run operation that is also affordable. Midweek $25 lift tickets are a treat. One of my favorites.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews SKI BUTTERNUT
03/08/2010 by: Anonymous

Ski Butternut is a great place to learn to ski or board or to go as an experienced skier or border. Butternut is the perfect size mountain. The services are great and quick. The food is great with a wide variety of choices to choose from. The prices are fantastic! You can go there during the week for only $25! WOW! That is a great price. I love going to Ski Butternut, and I encourage you to go there also. Ski Butternut is a great mountain for everyone. Hope you go to Ski Butternut!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews more BANG for your BUCK
02/18/2010 by: Nancy

A wonderful friendly place to come and ski! Prices are low, lift lines are short, people are friendly and the staff is very helpful. Bring your lunch, sit on one of the outside decks and enjoy!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Terrain Park Explodes With Fun
02/16/2010 by: Anonymous

The terrain park has so many exciting boxes, ramps, rails, and huge jumps. It was a blast to watch. My son and his friends go there a lot, but this is the first time I went in and it looked wonderful. The boys had so much fun and learned new tricks. I took a lesson for intermediate skiers and the guide was very helpful. He took us up the mountain and explained to each of us how to improve our skills and gain confidence. I will definitely do this again.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews WOW-Great SKIING-Great PRICES
02/09/2010 by: Anonymous

Ski Butternut has the best snow conditions around! they are always making snow, The terrain park is lots of fun. The prices are the lowest around. The upper lodge has lots of space for my Mom to sit and read. The food is good, too, but a little on the expensive side.I wish they had night skiing or longer hours. Overall best bargain around!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Ski at Butternut
02/09/2010 by: kaly

When I went to Butternut in Mass. the conditions were great! I love to go to Butternut, and I try to go there as much as I can. When I went, there was a perfect amount of snow, and it was packed perfect. The mountain was 100% open. The lift lines go by quickly, since the people directing traffic keep it even. The food tastes great, and it is great prices. Butternut is great for people of all ages, size, and ability. I had a blast at Butternut, and I recommend it to you.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Very Family Freindly
01/25/2010 by: Anonymous

As a family with 3 kids, we like to ski at places that can accommodate a wide range of skill levels. Butternut was perfect for this. From any lift you can access all levels of trails. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with the younger children. When we arrived, we needed to visit the repair shop to remount a set of bindings, and this was done in less than 10 minutes. The upper lodge is nice and large and was quite clean despite the large crowds that day. I would definitely recommend Butternut for an easy day of family skiing.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great skiing, friendly atmosphere!
01/01/2010 by: Anonymous

Skiied Butternut for over 35 years. Started with my Dad and now I go with my family. Easy ride from New York metro area.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great Terrain Park
12/30/2009 by: Shawn

Ski Butternut is a fun place to snowboard. The lift lines go quickly and the terrain park is a lot of fun. I got a season pass this year and am bringing different friends with me so they can enjoy a great slope not too far from home (2 hours).

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Enjoyable opening day 2009-10 season
12/15/2009 by: Anonymous

I was impressed with the quality of the snow conditions at Ski Butternut on opening day. Enjoyed deep packed powder conditions in the morning and it lasted most of the day. Understandably by late afternoon the slopes were getting a little skied off in some places. Glad to hear that the Terrain Park would be opening with some features the next day. The features will serve to tire out my 9yr old. Job well done. I've always enjoyed skiing at Butternut. Certainly offers some of the best conditions around and the price for a season pass is incredible. Great Value.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Definatly a place to go!
03/01/2009 by: Meghan

Definatly plan a day to go to Butternut! We had a great day of skiing, the conditions were perfect, the cost is fantastic - we used the college coupon that you can print out on line and the crowds were minimal and all of the people were friendly. This is a GREAT place to go!!! The Brewhouse in town is worth a stop afterwards!

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews GREAT DEALS
02/23/2009 by: Patti McAuley

Resort has a really nice upper lodge. They run the lifts well and keep them moving and snow cleared away. Rental shop is pretty good with lots of people running it. The rates are great for season passes and discounts. One minus is it closes at 4:00 and there is no night skiing.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Ski Butternut
02/05/2009 by: Anonymous

Ski Butternut is a great place for the family. You can also have a great time without the family on their two amazing terrain parks. Ski butternut also has a great selection of lifts and trails that I personally love.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Great MLK day skiing, but slow lift lines
01/21/2009 by: Anonymous

I really like Butternut as a ski destination - it's close to home, very reasonably priced, and suits my intermediate skill level, and that of my two sons.

On MLK day, credit card processing was out of action, which created slow and long lines to purchase lift tickets. The group sales booth should have opened sooner to speed things up - we wasted at least 30 minutes in the line.

Lift lines were also long, but the slopes were uncrowded, and there was plenty of packed powder to ski on (after 7-9 inches in the previous 48 hours), even at the end of the day, with very little New England Ice on the trails we used (greens and blues). Without a high-speed lift at Butternut, they really struggle to move large crowds from the lift lines to the top of the slopes.

Staff were friendly as always. Definitely would come back again, but would plan to arrive earlier for MLK day 2010.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews great for the kids and a great day trip for tri-state
02/05/2008 by: Laurie Clerkin

very affordable- mid week deals and awesome for the kids. It a great place to go if you live in NY, CT, NJ and MASS. My children loves the ski lessons here.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews great place to practice for races
12/12/2007 by: Anonymous

awesome place to warm up in the beginning of the ski season.

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ski Butternut rating reviews Glad to be skiing...but
01/29/2007 by: Anonymous

Sunday, 1/28/07, was a beautiful day for skiing! Unfortunately I spent the majority of my day waiting in lift lines.

Packed powder can be found in some spots, but frozen granular would best describe the overall conditions.

It would have helped if all of the lift lines were open, the slow moving, older lifts don't help the pace either. While I'm at it, there should be more than 1 person/register issuing lift tickets, and there should be a limit of ticket/people allowed on the slopes on a given day. That being said, I love Butternut, the people there are great, it's close to home & I will return, but it would be nice if some of the things I mentioned could be addressed.

Certainly mother nature hasn't been cooperative this year, which is why I shouldn't complain, but...

More Ratings:
Ski Butternut Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ski Butternut value rating reviews Value
Ski Butternut service rating reviews Service
Ski Butternut dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars