Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Reviews

Truckee, CA  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Reviews

16 Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews(4.19) Overall
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort skiing terrain rating reviews(4.44) Skiing / Terrain
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value prices rating reviews(3.38) Value / Prices
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews(4.31) Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort food bars rating reviews(4.13) Dining / Bars
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great place to go for the price I paid
01/20/2011 by: Anonymous

This place was great. Had small lift lines, not a lot of people, great service. The snow was a little icy but that was expected. I don't go snowboarding very much but this place is very nice, up at the top of the list of places I have gone.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great place ski!
03/03/2010 by: Anonymous

Great place to ski, the staff are friendly, and it's always fun to ski here!

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great ski school for kids
12/02/2009 by: Anonymous

Great skiing and excellent school for little kids, but a bit flashy with a shopping mall kind of feel at the base. The school is extremely organized and has a great learning area which our son loved. Northstar is more upscale than some of the other resorts with lots of shops and an ice rink down below. If you're trading off skiing with kids it can actually be good so the non-skiing parent has lots to do at the base, but otherwise it's like a shopping mall down there.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews kinda expensive
03/04/2009 by: Christina Beckley

the price was kinda high for what you get, but otherwise, it was a fun day.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great place, well gromed
02/15/2009 by: Chris Lehmann

Of all the places to ski in No. Calif. this is one of my favorite places

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Northstar Rocked
02/13/2009 by: Anonymous

I went last week to Northstar, and it Rocked. I Skied the backside all day and could not get enough. The groomed runs had awesome snow. Can wait to go up again.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great conditions
02/03/2009 by: Dave

Skied Super Bowl Sunday and Monday, Feb 2, 2009. Started at Big Wave Burrito, at the base in the Village, with a huge breakfast burrito. Despite the lack of snowfall thus far for the season, there was excellent coverage without bare spots or rocks. Slopes were the usual well -groomed, long, and well signed. Crowds were well managed by the very professional and friendly personnel. Food - smoked turkey drumstick with black beans and rice was huge and excellent at the Summit Grill with spectacular sunny seating on the deck. Two fantastic days of skiing, close enough to Reno to catch the Steelers Super Bowl win - 45 minutes away.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Flatstar for sure, but go for the trees!
01/21/2009 by: rahul

First of all, they have a coupon through snowbomb that gives 23$ off the lift ticket rates.

Now for the terrain. There are no double blacks in the trail map. That itself is a hint as to why it is called flatstar. I didnt see anypart of this mountain that would compare in terrain to its neighbours squaw and alpine. But the trees, oh my god the trees! The whole mountain is full of amazing tree runs. This is also a really good place to go on a foggy or snowy day when visibility is nil in places like squaw and alpine.

I was really impressed by the beginner terrain. I took a few beginners there and the novices have a really long run they can get from the top of the gondola. The upper beginners have a top to bottom run that is just fun and really long. My friends loved the place. The novice took roughly 45 minutes to make it down the lower green run and the upper beginner took about 30 from top to bottom. Now those are looong runs!

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews The snow was great
12/29/2008 by: Anonymous

We went for a day trip on December 21st. It was snowing while we were riding, it was great. The mountain staff seemed a little unprepared for the number of riders on the hill, so it was a little chaotic in the lift lines. People were not "alternating", as they should. But once at the top, all was forgotten as we rode the powder to our hearts delight.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews this place rocks!!!
12/29/2008 by: John

This mountain is one of the best resorts ive been to. It has access and trails for every type of riders from the first timers to the pros. It always has plenty of snow coverage. The parks are awesome and the free rides are great and steep.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews North"star" is really a star resort
12/23/2008 by: snowbordjoe

The mnt was in great condition when i visited Tahoe. I originally went to go to heavenly but I decided to take a trip out to the other resorts as well and I ened up picking Northstar. After picking Norhtstar I was glad with my decision. I really enjoyed the area and great runs. I really liked the mnt all around and if I am ever in Tahoe again I will stop by for sure.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Flat star
12/12/2008 by: Rahul

As far as terrain, there is not much. Its a good place for intermediates and for family. It has arguably the best park in CA. I would prefer Alpine or Squaw any day for terrain and skiing quality.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews No longer a great place to go
01/17/2008 by: Anonymous

"cast off...the trappings of civilization and...stuff that matters" Are they kidding? Northstar's become a place that caters to the rich who can afford the condos in the "Village" with exclusive "ski-in, ski-out" access. All the building they've done has made parking no longer a convenient walk to the slopes, you have to take a shuttle to get to the "Village", then walk the entire length of the "Village" (with stairs) to the ticket booths. There you wait in line 45+ minutes to get a lift ticket and wait again for the Gondola. It took two hours to make our first run. Would've taken even longer had one of us needed to rent equipment (line was almost as long as the ticket line). Long wait at the lift lines too... That was a weekend. Mid-week is a little better if you get there early. The mountain itself is still great to ride, but the inconveniences, the lift ticket price, and price of food are enough for my friends and I to consider going elsewhere.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Good trees
12/14/2007 by: Rahul

The main reason to go here would be the trees off Lookout. Else i would be going to either squaw or alpine for sure.. To be fair to the resort, its a great place for a family.. good amenities, restaurants etc.. which is what the resort is trying to build up to anyways... And possibly the best park in the tahoe area, if you are into it

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Busy Day- lots of fun!
01/09/2007 by: denay

It was insanely busy- by 930am we arrived to a *literally* FULL parking lot. They had begun parking people in Truckee and bussing to the resort. So we moved on to Paid Parking- full- they were being parked at the gas station nearby. So we paid for valet- 40 bucks! Not expecting that expense, but it turned out to be worth it when we headed out. All that said, the lines were not that bad, and were even fast after lunch time. The green runs were busy, but the blues were pretty open and easily navigated. We got in at least 10 runs, had a good lunch after the rush, and the snow was fantastic until late in the day when it got a little icy in patches. With a $44 coupon from our ski rental place, it was well worth the time and effort. I love Northstar, just wish they had a cheaper season pass.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort rating reviews Great place for friends and family
01/03/2007 by: Anonymous

Easy resort to get around. Ski lifts were not cluttered mid week. Many friendly people, great snow, easy access. Overall, I really enjoyed my trip to Northstar. The only drawback, it was a bit pricey.

More Ratings:
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort value rating reviews Value
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort service rating reviews Service
Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars