Canaan Valley Reviews

Davis, WV  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Canaan Valley Reviews

18 Canaan Valley Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Canaan Valley rating reviews(4.56) Overall
Canaan Valley skiing terrain rating reviews(4.22) Skiing / Terrain
Canaan Valley value prices rating reviews(4.44) Value / Prices
Canaan Valley service rating reviews(4.56) Service
Canaan Valley food bars rating reviews(4.17) Dining / Bars
Canaan Valley rating reviews Great experience
03/06/2013 by: Dan Dillemuth

Skied all day Sunday March 3rd. 6 – 8 inches of fresh power and no lines. Nothing too challenging, no terrain parks or features, but definitely a great time. We plan to return in the future.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Perfect Family Skiing
01/13/2013 by: Craig

Canaan Value has something for everyone in the family. They have two mountains to ski which are a short bus ride away from each other for every level of skier or snowboarder. Silvercreek is perfect for beginners and novices. They also have night skiing. The trails are wide and their grooming made conditions excellent. There staff is very friendly and accommodating. The lift lines were short and quick so you can get a lot of runs in. We enjoyed the resort very much and would like to plan another trip to Cannan Valley soon.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Pretty with Many Recent Upgrades
01/10/2013 by: Anonymous

I would rate CV higher, but due to recent upgrades, the resort opened very late and some improvements are not completed. By next year, this should be a top destination for Mid-Atlantic skiers. With a new beginner area, expanded snowmaking and parking, and facilitiy upgrades, CVwill soon be a jewel. The new big tubing park was delayed by weather and a late start. It's a beautiful setting, clean, and well-run. Just wish they'd gotten it finish!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Awesome slopes!!
12/20/2012 by: Shana Griffith

I have ski'd Canaan Valley since I was younger and only went one time last year!! I have missed it so much!! Love it there!!! Slopes are great and the staff is wonderful!!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Friendliest people
08/12/2012 by: Anonymous

Canaan valley has a great family friendly atmosphere and the people of West Virginia are by far some of the most friendliest I have ever meet. Well maintained slopes and a great place to learn, yet there is still an opportunity for the advance skier to have fun. I would highly recommend the mountain

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Very relaxing atmosphere!!!
11/30/2011 by: Anonymous

Canaan is a very nice place to ski! I went in late season so not alot of the ski lodge was open but hopefully this year will venture back to get the full affect !!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Great place to ski and instructors very nice
11/15/2010 by: Anonymous

We take a trip every year to the ski resport for the past years. Every year we are impressed with the serice we receive. Everyone is extremly friendly and helpful. Last year was my first year to try skiing. My instructor was extremly nice and patient. I would recomend to anyone.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Wonderfully Tame Family Venue
01/15/2010 by: Anonymous

If I were the parent of younger kids, Canaan Valley would be my first choice in West Virginia. The facility is spacious and spotless. The food prices were very reasonable and very good quality. It's a great mountain if you're looking for tame blue groomers. I think it's a family gem and deserves more attention. A few of the slopes designated as blacks are not even challenging blues. The signature slope, Gravity, was a challenging at the top and a lot of fun.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews We love Canaan Valley!
01/11/2010 by: Martha Allen

Have been going to canann for over 20yrs! Great family ski experience. Have had great private lessons for our daughter; stay at the lodge and enjoy that too. Always make a trip to the tubing park. Our annual weekend trip is always too short and not enough!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Improvements at CVR
12/17/2009 by: Christi Dant

For 2009-10, CVR should be able to boost its snowmaking efforts having obtained a permit to draw water from the Blackwater River. CVR has often suffered from having limited number of slopes open. We recently hiked the mountain extensively and used our backcountry skis twice prior to the resort opening this year. If this mountain is fully open, it will be a hoot. CV is a very nice facility with pristine scenery since no houses are built on the property (in the State Park). It's a fine place for thin cover skiing as the slopes have been cleared of rocks and hazards. Highly recommend for family destination.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews A wonderful family resort
12/12/2009 by: Jerome Lukas

Canaan Valley has a great staff, ready to help and serve . . . they really make you feel very welcome and special, especially when you have small children. Whoever trains this staff needs to be commended, because they really know how to not only handle children, but make them feel special as well. The Canaan Cub Club is terrific for children.

Although the vertical drop is not that tremendous, the trails were beautifully landscaped, with an eye for the beauty of the surrounding region. The slopes in some trails are gentle and allow beginners a chance to have an adventure.

The warming huts and fireplaces are a real treat, especially when you are tired and cold.

The food is moderately priced (for ski resorts) and some are actually very exceptional in quality and variety of menu selections.

This is a fine place to bring a "starter snow sports" family and you will be treated with some of the best staff around the east coast.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Love Canaan!!!!!!!!!
12/08/2009 by: Anonymous

I've been going to Canaan since I was 10 years old, now I'm 30 years old. Have always loved it, its quiet, you don't get run over by stupid skiers or snow borders, every one has always been respectful at Canaan. It's a great family place. It's a great area, not only the skiing, but the valley is great. Great little shops and the surrounding towns are so nice. You won't be disappointed in the skiing or the area.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Canaan Valley, place for your entire family!
12/02/2009 by: Andrew

My family went to Canaan last year and had a blast!! The bast part of the trip for me was the lengthy intermediate trails (Timber Trail) that seem to last forever! Canaan has a something for every skill level of skier. Make it you next stop for family fun!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Awesome Ski Resort!!!
03/06/2009 by: Anonymous

The very BEST ski resort in all of WV. Love to come to Canaan and hit the slopes any time through the season!!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Not that great...
03/05/2009 by: Anthony

Skied here on Saturday 2/28/09. Deal was ok - Stay and Ski free for $160 at the "resort" which is a barely glorified hotel. No snow anywhere on the mountain except for the slopes and that was mostly ice! No snow making either for some reason.....

I'd recommend going to one of the other ski areas in WV if you are going to go. They are a little bit higher priced but better conditions.

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Stay in the cabins for a great experience!
03/04/2009 by: Gayle Johnson

Our club rented cabins and had "Ski the Valley" lift tickets. The weather was warm and some rain, but had a great experience! The staff was friendly and helpful. The slopes had some bare spots, but there were still plenty of places that had a good base. The food and staff in the lodge restaurant were excellent! Overall "Good Times" were had by all!!!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Great Fun - Advanced
11/28/2008 by: Anonymous

I went here for 5 days or so with my family and had a real BLAST! The variable terrain makes it hard to get bored. I did find that most of the runs were very advanced; this is not for the new learner! There are a few beginner runs and intermediate runs, but for the money you pay to go to Canaan, it is much better spent if you know how to handle yourself on skis/snowboard. It was a little icy when I went (in December), but it was not too bad and I am sure that this is only because certain runs were more popular than others and got carved out and turned icy in places. This happens pretty much everywhere on the east coast. The service was great- people were friendly and quick. The skiiing.snowboarding was great fun!

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Canaan Valley rating reviews Quick lines
11/07/2007 by: Anonymous

This resort offers lots to do! the Ski lines in general are quick and the runs are not too lengthy. Make sure you ski in the am so you can really get into the powder. After 4 there can be some ice. I love the options for hiking and snow shoeing. The tube lanes are tons of FUN too. Near by is Timberline Ski Resort. Not Bad either. Love the lenght of Salamander for a warm up. the views and weatther are to die for. Go WV

More Ratings:
Canaan Valley Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Canaan Valley value rating reviews Value
Canaan Valley service rating reviews Service
Canaan Valley dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars