Wintergreen Resort Reviews

Wintergreen, VA  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Wintergreen Resort Reviews

9 Wintergreen Resort Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Wintergreen Resort rating reviews(4.33) Overall
Wintergreen Resort skiing terrain rating reviews(4.11) Skiing / Terrain
Wintergreen Resort value prices rating reviews(3.78) Value / Prices
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews(4.22) Service
Wintergreen Resort food bars rating reviews(3.67) Dining / Bars
Wintergreen Resort rating reviews $$$$
01/22/2013 by: Ethan

I think I am being generous with the 4... they definitly do the best with what you can with this weather here in Va, and I go up regularly just because it's the closesest place... but they charge the hell out of you. I bought a hamburger for 7$ yesterday... like im sorry, but i didn't know i had to starve or go bankrupt to ski. As well, the snow is all man made, and gets very icy, but it's fine. The terrain park needs a lot of work, and that is definitely the downside of this resort. TERRAIN TERRAIN TERRAIN

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews The best place to go
12/27/2012 by: Oleg Polishchuk

The best place in Virginia, easy to arrive, nice nature

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Great place. LOVE Wintergreen.
01/09/2012 by: Michael

We love Wintergreen. Went this weekend (the 6th of January). No crowds (been kind of warm lately for an almost all man-made snow resort). Friendly staff. Good pizza at a reasonable price. Beautiful setting.

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Pretty good place to go in VA.
01/19/2011 by: Anonymous

We went here on a Saturday/holiday weekend, so tons of people & no natural snow in the area. Not the best conditions at any resort. Slopes were typical man-made icy pack, lines got very long as the day progressed. Lifts were pretty quick however (once you got on them) & there were lots of staffmembers around to help. The line to pick up rentals was horrible - in the future, I would rent demo equipment from somewhere else like the shop onsite (Freestyle).

Nice lodge area, storage bins available to rent with all day access, ski shop on site holds demo days (the reason I went on a holiday weekend). Seating is limited in the lodge. Average prices - normal price was $70 for 8 hrs (but military/gov't price through ITT was $50). The layout is a little weird, & the longest slopes are black diamonds, so if you like greens & blues, there isn't as much to choose from. But there is some variety and the terrain park is neat. Also had tubing, zipline, and ice skating up near the lodge.

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Family Friendly
12/01/2010 by: Anonymous

Giving Wintergreen resort some love before the upcoming season. They have started blowing snow and hope to have the slopes open by Dec 10. Wintergreen is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mnts. We have been visiting there for a few years now. We make the two hour drive from DC to get away from the NOVA area slopes that are over crowded etc. We have two children and both of them find plenty to do while there. Our oldest, 12, picked up on skiing at the age of 8 and loves going out by herself. She did take the one hour free training session offered when you rent you ski's from the resort. We always stay at one of the many properties that are offered from VacaRenter for great last minute deals. Most of the properties are located in walking distance to the slopes!

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Best Kid-Friendly Resort in Virginia
01/27/2009 by: Katie

Wintergreen is a wonderfully affordable, kid-friendly ski and snowboard resort in Virginia! Even if you're not staying slopeside there are numerous rental condos and townhomes that are within a very short walk (or shuttle ride) to the slopes. The lodge's "Treehouse" is a great kids' day care-type place that also offers top-notch kids' ski lessons. The restaurant and lodge shopping area is easy for kids to navigate and has kid-friendly menu items (not to mention pretty family-friendly prices!). For kids not interested in skiing or boarding the tubing is awesome and there are extensive nearby trails to hike. Or pack your suite and enjoy the pool and rec center! We have made it a family tradition to ski Wintergreen every year and would encourage other families to do the same!

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Wintergreen Resort
01/07/2009 by: John Miska

We had gone up to Winter Green on the spur of the moment as my son wanted to snowboard and the six year old wanted to try thr tube slide...so we packed into the car only to find that a large group had arrived to use the tube slide and no tickets were available. While walking to the car we met a staff member who asked us how we liked the resort. When we explained that we did not as we could not use the facility he took us to a young lady in sales who knew the group which had booked the facility. As it turned out she personally tracked down the group which had 3 no shows who were able to provided us with thier extra passes. There was an hour's wait for the time to use the passes so the young lady gave us all passes to the game room where the girls enjoyed the break . the tube slide was a thrill for all but I must commend the Resort for the fine staff We literally had to pull my son off the lift at 10 PM to return home!

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Interesting set up
11/28/2008 by: Anonymous

For a Virginia resort, this is a fair choice. Their food, from my point of view, is not so delicious, but I know lots of people who don't mind it. The staff are pretty upbeat, but sometimes can be a little slow when it comes to service. I was standing in the food line for too long according to my taste. They have a really great locker room that makes it easy to store stuff in for pretty cheap (a few quarters). I really like how they have the expert/intermediate runs completely separate from the beginning runs. I learned to snowboard at this resort and it was good to not have to worry about accidentally getting onto an edge that was too experienced for me. Now that I am more experienced, I love being able to go anywhere on the left side of the mountain but keep it in the intermediate range, rather than having to avoid flat green circle runs. The black diamonds are also pretty fun, but they can be a little icy during the late season when it is below freezing.

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Wintergreen Resort rating reviews Holidays suck
02/21/2005 by: Anonymous

The slopes were packed on Sunday, Feb. 20th. WAY too many high school kids showed up for their President's Day weekend and made the day miserable. Not only did I have to listen to them babble and curse, but the slopes needed to be groomed and the icy spots were all over. It did snow during the day and was pretty, but the slopes were just terrible. This is what comes with crowds; I do understand that. The lift lines were also long. The snowboard that I was given to rent came with duct tape holding a piece of it together. Overall, it was an okay day. Too many people and not enough slopes.

More Ratings:
Wintergreen Resort Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Wintergreen Resort value rating reviews Value
Wintergreen Resort service rating reviews Service
Wintergreen Resort dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars