Afton Alps Reviews

Hastings, MN  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Afton Alps Reviews

12 Afton Alps Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Afton Alps rating reviews(4.08) Overall
Afton Alps skiing terrain rating reviews(4.33) Skiing / Terrain
Afton Alps value prices rating reviews(3.50) Value / Prices
Afton Alps service rating reviews(4.50) Service
Afton Alps food bars rating reviews(3.50) Dining / Bars
Afton Alps rating reviews Great day only a short drive away
11/16/2012 by: Joe

I love to roll in right when the lifts open, on a sunny day with temps around 30, and spend the day with headphones on just pounding out runs all day. They shut down every other lift so you need to know where your going or it means you'll be skating back to a working lift. As soon as I see the first school bus roll in, I hit the road. During the day it is as if you have the whole place practically to yourself, and I love it. So close by, for anyone in the twin cities, and a great way to get some exercise, have fun, and relax.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Great Place for Many Skill Levels
02/07/2011 by: Anonymous

This Twin Cities institution hasn't changed much in the past few years. When they get lots of snow they open their 3 chalets and skiiers/snowboarders of all skill levels can spred out and enjoy the day, regardless of how many others had the same idea. When they close the upper (Alpine) chalet, the whole place gets a bit more congested. They do not offer many discounts on lift tickets, so once the they start shutting down lifts and chalets, it becomes very over-priced for what you get. It is a good place to learn and they have some nice runs and park areas for those with advanced skills. The food is fine, nothing special and not too outragously priced. I have wondered if they have ever considered putting in a lodge/motel. The place is big enough that it would be fun to stay over and play 2 days. All in all, it is a nice place that's convenient for those in the east metro and western WI.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Best ski/snowboard area in the Twin Cities area.
12/31/2010 by: Josh

Afton Alps is definitely the best ski/snowboard are in the Twin Cities area. They have way more runs and variety then Wild Mountain, Trollhaugen, and Hyland Park. Afton can get crowded at times, but there are enough runs where you can escape the crowds. Also, they have a LOT of lits. Go during the week for the best deals. I think its only like $25 for an all day pass on weekdays.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Room to Spread out and Enjoy the Snow
02/11/2010 by: Anonymous

Afton is located on the outskirts of the Twin Cities, so it can get busy. That said, when there's enough snow like this year, and the whole area is open, then there's plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the snow.I've been there when it was only 60-75% open and at those times it can fell really crowded on the slopes. This year it feels like a REAL (Western) ski area. With all three lodges open, even the food lines at noon are not too bad and if you get there early and eat before noon, it's like having a resort for just you and your good friends.I've taken a one-day $20 group lesson that turned out to be a private lesson. Really great coach helped me through my rough spots, making skiing fun again. The quality and price of the food is decent - basic but good and not too over-priced.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Great place to go!!!
01/15/2010 by: Delyna.

This is an addictive place !! :) My friends and I have been here so many times. We all had so much fun here. Each time we come here; we spend at least 6 hours or more. Love this sport and the environment here. YEAHH!!

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews spring fling
03/17/2009 by: annie faue

i went to afton saturday march 14th for their spring fling. they had a ton of activities planned and the day looked promising.

afton did a HORRIBLE job of preparing their slopes. it was very warm that day but i didn't seem that they had done a single thing to prepare the snow. it was absolutely horrible.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews great snow
01/20/2009 by: annie

went out on Saturday and conditions were GREAT! snow is well groomed and all trails are open. good times!

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Great place when all the runs are open
12/28/2008 by: Anonymous

Afton is the biggest metro area ski area, but only when all the runs are open. Often it's only the front side that's open which makes it a lot like the two up by Taylors Falls (which are only 70 minutes from St. Paul). When the snow is good and the back runs are open, YES, then it's worth the price. Otherwise you are better off heading up north a little - at least they have daily bargains. Because of it's distance from I 94 it is probably nearly as far away unless you live in Woodbury or Hastings (it's 45 minutes from St. Paul).

The food is the worst I've had at any local ski area - overpriced and not very good.

They do have a good ski school and their simplified learn to ski/ride rates (3 times with a lesson, lift and rental for about $90) is unbeatable.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Great skiing afdtyer the rain
12/17/2008 by: JohnD.Caldwell

The Gromers did a great job on12-14 evening after they groomed the runs was e best skiing this year. Those that stayed home missed a great evening of fun.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Afton a great place for kids to learn to ride!
12/27/2007 by: buschy

If you want to teach your kids to ride, head out to Afton. They have 2 "magic Carpet" lifts, which are the way to go when teaching kids. My boys are 8 & 5 and have been riding for 2 years, thanks to Magic Carpet lifts. The best run at Afton for small kids, is past the main chalet (drive past the big parking lot, all the way to the end of the road- Due East). It's by the Meadows chalet. There is a magic carpet lift, easy access to your car (snacks), and very close to the chalet for lunch and hot chocolate, when they need an energy boost. Stay away from the bunny hill in front of the main chalet- the run is waaaay too busy for small kids- they'll have more fun by the Meadows chalet. I'm only sharing this "tip" because my kids have moved up to chairlifts now!

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Nice runs, friendly atmosphere, but toilets need renovating
02/20/2007 by: Anonymous

Wonderful place for a relaxing day. It would be nice if they would renovated the toilets to have more space between the seat and the door--one needs more space with all the layers having to be taken off. A brighter area in the lounges, more cubby holes, and wider spacing between tables would improve the ambiance. Great ski shop and service center.

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Afton Alps rating reviews Great Place To Go
02/25/2006 by: Anonymous

More Ratings:
Afton Alps Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Afton Alps value rating reviews Value
Afton Alps service rating reviews Service
Afton Alps dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars