Ragged Mountain Reviews

Danbury, NH  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Ragged Mountain Reviews

17 Ragged Mountain Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Ragged Mountain rating reviews(4.41) Overall
Ragged Mountain skiing terrain rating reviews(4.47) Skiing / Terrain
Ragged Mountain value prices rating reviews(4.41) Value / Prices
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews(4.65) Service
Ragged Mountain food bars rating reviews(4.00) Dining / Bars
Ragged Mountain rating reviews Uncrowded even on a Saturday!
02/06/2013 by: Tim

Went on a Saturday. The 6-pack lift moves people!!! No waiting. It was cold after a warm stretch making conditions fast on hard-pack.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Great first-time visit to Ragged. We'll be back !!!
02/27/2011 by: Jason A.

Visited on 2/25 (12+ inch snow storm during the day) and 2/26 (nicely groomed packed powder the day after). Got great discount tickets both days - it's good to see a mountain offering good promotions. Large, spacious, and very comfy lodge perfect for families like mine with 3 kids in tow and a wife who doesn't ski. Staff were friendly, helpful and always courteous, even offering to tow people out of the parking lot after the storm (many cars were stuck !). Barnyard learning area good for kids.

Improvement opportunities:

1. Better trail markings. Presently not as good as other mountains in NH/VT/MA.

2. Easy Winder (a long green trail on the East side) varies too widely. It is so steep and icy on the top part that it made it difficult for my youngest son to traverse (especially with vegetation showing), and then was so flat that it was more like hard work on the lower sections. Other resorts have more even gradients on their long cruising runs.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Snow Day!
02/04/2011 by: Jackie

School was cancelled on Wed 2/3 so I took the kids to Ragged and we went looking for the Groundhog. No luck, the snow was just too deep for him to dig out of, so there will be 6 more weeks of deep snow skiing for sure! All the glades were open with great coverage, skied fresh powder all day. Lots of leg burning runs. With the Wed $33 ladies lift ticket deal it made the trip even sweeter! We'll be back soon for more......

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews A great day on the slopes
01/30/2011 by: Anonymous

Ragged delivered a great day of skiing. the only disappointment was the six-pack was down for an hour or so to repair a wheel or something. But, we had lunch and filled our time on the other great runs on the other peak. We were back on the six-pack in no time and contnued our great day. Cardigan was a favorite for the kids as well as exhibition.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Pretty cool day trip place
01/18/2011 by: Sara

This place is cool, although some terrain is weirdly marked and signage is difficult to find, if you get a trail map you're good to go here. Really cheap food in the lodge, too, compared to most other ski areas.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews nice place to go
02/16/2010 by: Chris

Very pricey but little lines and conditions were cordoroy all day on Monday.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Getting Better All The Time
01/15/2010 by: Bob M

Even though its been a bit of a lean snow year so far this year Ragged has been cranking out the snow and keeping things nicely groomed. With the high speed six pack and fixed grip triple to two peaks you get no lines and plenty of room on the slopes. They've also got two separate beginner slopes and lifts along with a moving carpet for the kids. Add to that a roomy lodge, good food from two different venues and friendly people all adds up to a great day for the entire family. Top it off with a beer in the lounge with live music on the weekends and you've got about the best place to go in central NH.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Very nice.
03/13/2009 by: Thomas Bricker

Compared to the smaller mountains in southern PA I normally ski at, this place was huge! It was literally twice as big as my local resort. Not the best place for a ski/stay package, but a nice resort if you are visiting in the area. The staff are the friendliest people I've ever met, they never stopped smiling. The terrain park was a little lacking, however they had just been hit with a bout of warm weather, so it wasn't really their fault.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Another great day at Ragged
03/05/2009 by: Bryan Langley

Went to Ragged with a buddy of mine on a Tuesday, got the 2 for tuesday price. Was very happy with the conditions of the mountain. All the trails were open except for Rags to riches (glades). Unbelievable conditions, they had fresh snow 2 days before we got there and they just opened Easy Winder. We decided to check it out and there was over 2 feet of fresh pwder that noone had touched. I had the best snow flying, white out crash ever.My buddy said I disappeared in a cloud of white. Top of the trail is noce but when you hit the flats on easy winder you better be moving fast or you'll be unstrapping. Skiers got it made with poles. Flying Yankee, and sweepstakes were our pics of the day. Some definite fun glades off of Cardigan though. All in all it was a 9 out 10 day. Only way it could of been better is if Rags to riches was open and lift tickets were free. Definitely hit this mountain before the season is over, you won't regret it.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Best day ever
01/22/2009 by: Bryan Langley

Went to Ragged on January 20, 2009 "Obama Day" Lift tickets were $10. They just had significant snow fall two days before. only a few trails were closed, mostly the glades. There was no one there. The Six Pack Express 6 person high speed lift was going up with 1 or 2 people per seat most of the day. I sat on a trail for about 5 minutes and no one came past me. I had to take a picture of the trail with no one on it. It was a rarity. I rode fresh groomed trails all day. I will have to say it was by far the best $10 I ever spent.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Much improved
01/15/2009 by: Lois Davis

Wow what a little help from mother nature can do. The conditions improved 150% from just a week earlier. conditions on monday were corduroy butta. Very nicely groomed and soft. Had a great day. Ladies day so for $25 what a deal. 50 min from concord, well worth the trip.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews This place can't stay hidden for long
12/23/2008 by: Bob Misu

No lines, friendly staff, huge comfortable lodge, good food, fantastic snow. What more could you want with a ski area?

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Good mountain for all.
02/20/2008 by: Anonymous

Great mountain accommodating for all levels. Not much waiting even on a holiday weekend. Short wait for a quick ride up on the six pack lift. Would have been even better if more grooming was done.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Excellent Mountain
01/23/2008 by: Chris Misuraca

I just skied at Ragged for the first time this past weekend. I was very impressed! What I liked the most about this area was the quality and amount of terrain was fantastic. They are in a rebuilding phase, it seems and things will only get better. Nice bar area, decent food, and nice folks running the place. On the negative side- lift placement is strange and a bit scattered, grooming is merely adequate, and mid-mountain lodge not serving hot food yet (but will be soon). However, crowds don't seem to be an issue as this (I think) is mostly like a locals favorite and the states "best kept secret". I can not wait to go back again this year and highly recommend this ski area to anyone heading to NH for skiing. It's an overall better ski experience than I have had in the Whites in a long time.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews After The Thaw
01/23/2008 by: BMisu

Friday's snow was a bust after a miserable thaw. All the powder was gone to be replaced by a hardpack with death cookies where it wasn't groomed well or not a lot of ski traffic. With only Exhibition (narrowed by gated training), Upper and Lower Chute and Lower Ridge for advanced skiing and Headwall the only Expert trail open there wasn't a lot for Ragged to offer. After a snowy December and Season ticket holders still talking about the powder days, Saturday was a bit of a let down.

It would have been nice if some of the expert terrain had been groomed - if not for skiing - then to make a better base for new snow.

At days end, however, the bar was full of happy skiers drinking beer and listening to a really cool trio band (I wish I remember the name). Better days are coming. Its only mid-January and the Spear Triple gets a safety inspection this week so its hopeful for the end of January. Best snow of the year is yet to come. (I sincerely hope.)

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Awesome Powder dump
12/29/2007 by: Lois Davis

The new owners are doing something right. The lodge looked great and the food was delicious. Mother nature helped out with a foot of snow. The conditions were awesome and getting better by the minute. Only wish I could have gone again the next day. The price of course was the best $6 with 1/2 of that going to the Make a Wish charity. Ragged was great in the 70's and it looks to be on a great comeback. Keep it up.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Ragged Mountain rating reviews Its no Jay or Cannon
12/23/2007 by: BMisu

This is an example of what good weather can do for a place. I've seen reviews for Raggad that basically said this was a poor place to ski based on conditions. After all the snow New Hampshire has been getting any place open is bound to have the best skiing around. I'm a big fan of Cannon and Jay for their big mountain skiing. Ragged is not a big mountain but it has some big mountain features such as some cool glades down the center of the area between the twin peaks of Ragged and Spear mountains. These glades are reminiscent of the glades at Jay Peak in Vermont or Mittersill which is adjacent to Cannon. And with all the new snow these were a lot of fun. With more Winter to come and at least the prospect of much more snow to come Ragged Mountain had some big mountain experience to offer in a somewhat smaller package.

More Ratings:
Ragged Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Ragged Mountain value rating reviews Value
Ragged Mountain service rating reviews Service
Ragged Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars