Loon Mountain Reviews

Lincoln, NH  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Loon Mountain Reviews

29 Loon Mountain Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Loon Mountain rating reviews(4.11) Overall
Loon Mountain skiing terrain rating reviews(4.25) Skiing / Terrain
Loon Mountain value prices rating reviews(3.46) Value / Prices
Loon Mountain service rating reviews(4.04) Service
Loon Mountain food bars rating reviews(3.68) Dining / Bars
Loon Mountain rating reviews Best Skiing all Season !
03/25/2014 by: Anonymous

Best skiing all season on Sunday. Conditions were great everywhere on the Mountain. Had a fantastic family and friends day at Loon ! Great skiing ! Spring skiing was never so, so great !

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Fantastic
03/13/2014 by: Cordell

This weekend was my first visit to Loon. We had a blast, the skiing was great, the lodging was good and the terrain park was similar to Sunday River. Will definitely come back.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews So much to do!
02/17/2014 by: Anonymous

Not only is the mountain great for skiing varied terrain, they always have fun activities for the whole family! You must visit the ice castle! Too notch place to head to when vacationing!!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Lots of stuff for the whole family
02/10/2014 by: Jai hedstrom

Loon is one mountain that can have a lot of skiers and not feal crowded. The best thing about Loon is that it has so many different types of terrain, the whole family can have a great time no matter what skill level they are

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Surprisingly terrific
12/12/2013 by: Lo Davis

The man made snow on lower flume and rum runner was so close to the real stuff. It was so and carveable. Great early season conditions

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews 2014 Season
12/11/2013 by: SHERYL LABRECQUE

Skied opening day and the skiing was great. The lodge had some improvements and there were no lines. Food prices reasonable for beginning of season.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Opening Day
11/14/2013 by: Sheryl

Went skiing on opening day and the snow was great!! There were 2 main trails open top to bottom and the trails had great coverage. The price was only $29 which was a bargain for the day!!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews KinderBear program is terrible
02/06/2013 by: Mark Andrews

I put my 4-year-old in the KinderBear program; we have tried many other programs at other resorts, and the value of this program is by far the worst.

Morning check-in was an absolute zoo, in a tiny lobby. They neglected to tell me until I got there that there are no 1/2 day programs on weekends. The lunch was a joke. Worst - I talked with a nice lady in the morning about my child's ability (she turns, stops, controls her skis, and uses the lift) and then she spent the whole morning on a tiny & lame magic carpet. Total waste. I expected my kid to learn something, not just receive day care. I complained, and was was passed to a grumpy manager who treated me like a fool. My wife is a ski instructor ... I think we know more than these child care providers at Loon. At $130, this program is by far the worst value around.

AND, the terrain options for little kids are a joke! Very little to choose from - it is NOT a place for beginners or little kids that are learning.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Great Skiing !!!
12/03/2012 by: Sheryl Labrecque

Skiied today at Loon and the conditions were fantasic!!! Felt like it was mid-winter. Loon has done a great job making snow to have so many trails open so early. Skiied all day on so many trails and the lines weren't bad, trails were busy but good. It was a great day skiing!! :)

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Meh
01/16/2012 by: Anonymous

Extremely expensive, long lines, overcrowded even on midweek days. Snow is terrible this season. Conditions are always disappointing. Bunyan room is decent, food could be better. Too many beginners on the "difficult" terrain decimate the already shady snow conditions. Bathrooms are small and disgusting. Overall, it is definitely not worth the money. Loon is one of the primary reasons we refer to the east as the "ice coast"

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Great resort!
01/05/2012 by: Sheryl

Loon has always been a favorite place of mine to go. Slopes are challenging yet great for all levels!!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Quick Access to Mountain!
01/04/2012 by: Anonymous

One of the best mountains to access from so many areas of the state. The interstate runs right alongside this mountain and the easy access makes it so attractive! Love Loon!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Fun
12/17/2011 by: Anonymous

Loon is a fun mountain. Because of its location it's accessible fairly easily from Massachusetts. For the same reason it can get a bit crowded. Having a gondola helps, especially with crowds of in cold weather. There is a good variety of difficulty with the trails, and there is something for everyone. Always a good time. Definitely worth going to!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Pre Turkey Day & new wet snow
11/30/2011 by: biknski

11/23 - fresh layer of wet snow covered the mountain

Gondola & north peak express were not running due to early morning winds. this made the ride up extra long ( seven brothers & east basin doubles )

There was plenty of poaching on closed trails, but not for your new skis.

Haulback to walking boss (lower walking boss was ungroomed) was the best open trail. The other options off the top was pickled rock or bear claw to grand junction and then either back to the east basin dbl or down to the base and catch another nap on the seven brother chair.

Should be a good day of skiing through the holiday weekend as long as Loon Mgmt runs all the available chairs.

I drove across the bridge at the main entrance. The new / temporary bridge was open.

Remember the best days always start off downhill !

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews President Weekend Review
02/24/2011 by: John Grabow

Had the chance to spend President Day weekend at Loon Mountain resort. Was able to to enjoy all aspects of the resort and the always changing weather of New England. Friday was like spring with soft snow and non existant lift lines towards the end of the day. Sunday was very crowded on the main quad and gondola early in the day but its expected on a holiday weekend. Stayed on the south peak for most of the morning and over to north peak after. The trails were in decent shape considering how cold it was. A little bit of ice but overall a great day. Stay away from food in the lodge 26 dollars for a couple cheeseburgers, drinks and fries.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews I'd rather go elsewhere
01/18/2011 by: Sara

It's too expensive and crowded for me. Lift lines were about 10-20 minutes long, and everybody's a tourist. If you wandered around, you could find some uncrowded terrain, but that's far and few between. There's also a lot of beginners going on "more challenging terrain" (that's not that challenging) and scraping everything off, here, too. Since there's also beginner terrain from most lifts, there's a bunch of people who barely know how to get off the lifts blocking the way. I'd rather take my money and buy two tickets elsewhere for the price of one here.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews crowded but great snow
01/20/2010 by: liz hunt

Should have known the crowds would be peaked with the holiday weekend but ventured out on Sunday nonetheless. Crazy crowds and long lines but great conditions on the slopes that will bring me back for Feb. vacation week. Still feel like I've only discovered 1/2 of what Loon has to offer.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews epic day today
01/07/2010 by: mark morris

Walking Boss was epic for first tracks today, I'm going to be sore tomorrow. AWESOME

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Best skiing of the year
02/22/2009 by: Liz Hunt

Just spent our 1st vacation week at Loon. Had a great time. Surprisingly not crowded. South mountain adds a lot of terrain. Ski conditions perfect and some trails deserted! Also enjoyed a day snowshoe-ing. Extensive wooded trails; amazing!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Love this mountain. The best trail to ski
02/13/2009 by: Cindy Apel

This mountain is the best. My family and I love coming every year to ski and stay here at loon mountain. Give it a try! You will love it

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Good Skiing/Riding
01/27/2009 by: Anonymous

Went up to Loon on 1/24/09 - It was pretty crowded (expected for a weekend). Conditions were okay - they weren't phenomenal. I say that because by the middle of the day, some of the icy spots were being uncovered by the wind and use. But all-in-all a pretty good day!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews loved it
01/21/2009 by: Nikita Magnitsky

this place was great. a little pricey but totally worth it. the service is great. the slopes are also awesome. i give this place a 4.9 out of 5

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Go to Loon, stand in line, you'll still love it!
01/21/2009 by: Jon

Drove up Sun morning 1/18 (in the snowstorm!). Conditions were great! Trails aplenty. Well organized. Gondola shuts down @ 3:40 so plan accordingly. Lines were a little long but to be expected at such a great place, on a weekend, so convenient to the highway. On a side note..what happened to the days when kids weren't allowed in a bar?

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Good early in the year skiing!
12/23/2008 by: seashel54

Great early season skiing is found here. Mountain top fresh snowfall is rarely reported online and is a pure delight.

We skied Loon on Thursday December 18th, 2008. It is surprising how many trails are open early this year. Kudoos go to the snow making gods (yeah, the guys on the ground doing all the hard work as well as any enlightened forces that have brought fresh snowfall!)

Service from the people who have been there for years is great. Beware, a huge crop of new employees are still not up to snuff on how to deal with the public. This is especially evident in the language barrier of seasonal staff from far off destinations. Keep on your toes when loading and unloading the lifts.

Good job to Loon for making good skiing available with low prices on season tickets.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews nice place
12/04/2008 by: boris

very nice place, but be warned it is very crowded on the weekends. IT seems to be one of the favorite places of locals and lot of people are driving from Boston. We liked resort a lot, very modern and slopes are fun. Also we appreciated gondola which was just what we need between rides in cold weather.

Tickets are quite expensive but do not forget to check their web site for specials - one some days you may buy 2 tickets for the price of one!

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews not the cleanest place
03/19/2008 by: JuLee

we skied Loon on Sunday 3/16/08, it was a big disappointment. When we went into the base lodge you could not find a clean spot to put down your jacket or gloves. The tables were littered with debris and food and grease. The floor was littered with food. The grooming was awful as well.They could have made better use of the snow.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews nice and popular place
01/06/2008 by: Anonymous

One the most expensive ski resorts but still one of the favorites and moderns. On weekend it is very crowded here so to enjoy it fully do not go on weekend. Trails and great and you can ski plenty of times from top to bottom especially if you take gondola (and it is not a weekend ?)

I would advise to rent equipment in the store “Ski rental” on your way to Loon located in Lincoln. You can get decent ski and boots for just $20 or almost new carves for $30-35

They have a day when you can buy 2 tickets for the price of one, so make sure to check their web site for any deals going on

You will enjoy this place with its numerous trails for sure, but since it is very popular now be aware of crowds. They also have very nice green trail for newcomers so if you did not ski for a while or just learning, make sure to check it first

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews It was a good day!
01/29/2007 by: Audri

I went to Loon 01/27/07. The skiing was good. Some of the blue trails were icy and caused my husband and I to wipe out a few times. It was very cold 4-10 degrees and there were flurries. The only bad part of Loon is that its crowded. The lift line for Kancamagus is always really slow and packed with people, which isn't so great on a day that cold. They even had frostbite warnings on their info board. The lodge was packed as well. It would be great for Loon to initiate a "free bag check" like Mt. Snow and Killington have. It would free up some much needed space in the Lodge.

I did like the outdoor fire pit and the helpfulness of Loon's staff. It was a good day.

More Ratings:
Loon Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Loon Mountain value rating reviews Value
Loon Mountain service rating reviews Service
Loon Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Loon Mountain rating reviews Decent for intermediates
11/11/2002 by: Joe Smith

Loon has a good array of intermediate trails that with some care can provide top to bottom non-stop speed. Be careful of blind curves and intersections, but considerable stretches allow some flat out speed.

Yesterday's groomming allowed some excellent speed, but make sure your edges are sharp. More later in the the "snow report" section

More Ratings: