Snowshoe Reviews

Snowshoe, WV  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Snowshoe Reviews

19 Snowshoe Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Snowshoe rating reviews(4.32) Overall
Snowshoe skiing terrain rating reviews(4.42) Skiing / Terrain
Snowshoe value prices rating reviews(3.00) Value / Prices
Snowshoe service rating reviews(4.05) Service
Snowshoe food bars rating reviews(3.89) Dining / Bars
Snowshoe rating reviews Great Resort
12/31/2010 by: eric

Took kids skiing for Christmas break and ha a great time. Lift tickets are too expensive but you can find pretty good deals online (liftopia). Staff was wonderful and conditions were incredible. We are already planning our next trip

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Outrageous Prices
10/13/2010 by: Dieter

Not sure why Snowshoe Mt. is so darn expensive but someone needs to let Fortress or Intrawest know about this price gouging. Snowshoe and surrounding area is not one of the most happening places to ski. Instead of generating business they are driving it away by hiking the prices so outrageous that locals can't afford to ski there anymore.. I like to ski Snowshoe but the lodging and lift ticket prices have increased so much that I can fly out west and spend the a week out there for the same price that I can ski at snowshoe. I am in contact with several ski clubs and they whole heartedly agree and have begun to take their business elsewhere. Hopefully someone will look at this insane way of doing business and come up with a more affordable solution than to stick it to the average american consumer who needs recreation too.

thanks Dietermeister

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Beautiful and fun
02/22/2010 by: Ashley

This was the first place I've even been skiing before and it was GORGEOUS and extremely fun! The bunny slope was easy to learn and before I left the resort (2 days later), I was attempting double blacks! I truly enjoyed this trip!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Very Enjoyable
02/02/2010 by: Charlie Hogsett

Exellent resort. Be warned that it is a ways off the beaten path. 50 miles or ore off the interstate on a windy road. It can easily take 2 hours or more with winter weather. Otherwise snowshoe is excellent. Snowshoe mostly focuses on intermediate skiers but definately has some nice advanced trails. I would recommend learning at a smaller resort that caters to first time skiers, but you can learn just fine at snowshoe if you really want.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Awesome Weekend!
01/28/2010 by: Stacey Perry

The most fun we've had in a while! We stayed at Whistlepunk, which was a ski in/ski out condo. The condo was awesome and the trail to the slopes was right out our door! Conditions were a little foggy, but the skiing was great! Great family memories were made here! Thanks, Snowshoe, Wild & Wonderful West Virginia!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Wv skiing
12/26/2009 by: Anonymous

Snowshoe is Skiing in the WV and for surrounding areas. Slopes are always maintained well. I end up going down to Snowshoe at least 3-4 times per season which makes even the worst seasons enjoyable. But come on $75 a ticket. Highway Robbery!! One note, they say they have more slopes than anywhere, Well yeah if every other place named every little cross section and 1/4 run a different name every other resort would have 70+ slopes. So that would make their price equivalent a dollar per slope !?!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Vail Shopping, But Skiing Not So Much
02/05/2009 by: Christi

Don't get me wrong. It's a gorgeous place and probably the best place for wannabees and families with younger kids. The food, shopping, and accommodations are very very nice. The parking is difficult and limited for day trippers. The lift ticket prices are very high, but setting, the staff and crews are terrific. Professional, nice place.

There are a few challenging slopes, but most runs are very short with a lot of crossings. The few longer runs on western slopes are worth crossing the road for (which is maybe why the chicken did, too). Nice high speed lifts. The terrain parks are also pretty nice. I simply didn't find the mountain very challenging and it was much pricier than the terrain warrants.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews my first experience
01/21/2009 by: Kelly

This place is great! This was my first time snowboarding, and I know that I will definitely be coming back here soon!!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews improvements needed
01/05/2009 by: Anonymous

I hate writing bad reports, but the public needs to have this mountain exposed for its inadequacies. SIGNAGE: The entire resort has poor signage directing you to your final destination (4 different ski areas). On all slopes, signage is difficult to read (TOO SMALL: you run by it before you can read it). WORST YET: the COLOR-CODING IS AWFUL: it's hard to tell blue from green! (On one supposed Green - Whistlepunk - it has a SHARP, STEEP black diamond twist). Restrooms in all facilities were filthy & had long waits (some toilets were broken & many were totally clogged). Wait time on Ballhooter was 45 minutes! GOOD REPORT: The unknown secret was the Silver Creek area - it had excellent green runs – wide, easy slopes & fast lift lines. Wish we had gone here first! In all areas the mechanics of the ski lifts were harsh & poorly designed for getting off - the lifts stopped 3-4 times each run.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Best resort for skiing in NC, TN, VA or WV
01/05/2009 by: Teresa Jeffries

Snowshoe is worth the drive. More slopes and great skiing. The bus transit could be much better but other than that no complaints! :) We go 1x a year and have been to Snowshoe for the last 15 years! Great place.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews discount tickets
01/03/2009 by: Shannon

For discount lift tickets, you can find them online at Costco. Saves about $85 for 2 adult 2 day pass valid any day of 2009!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Feels Like Your Out West!
01/03/2009 by: Anonymous

More snow & longer runs than other resorts in the East w/ the atmosphere & ambiance like the West. What a difference a few years make. Snowshoe has always had a great reputation for excellent ski conditions, but with all the improvements at the top of the mountain, Snowshoe feels truly like a resort! The Village atmosphere is what you would expect to see out West..not in West Virginia! Kudos Snowshoe, we'll be back for more!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Best place south of New England
12/28/2008 by: Gary

Ski here every year. While we live on Sugar Mt NC it is worth the trip to get a better ski experience. The snowmaking is good the resort has some real variety to ski and is as good as it gets without going west or to New England.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Best Ski Resort in driving distance!
12/15/2008 by: Teresa Jeffries

Snowshoe and Silvercreek have more and longer trails than the other ski resorts in North Carolina and Virginia. We gladly drive the 7 to 8 hrs to make the trip. The lift lines are not a long wait and the trails are worth it! We have skiied Snowshoe for the past 15 years.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Fun with Friends!
11/28/2008 by: Anonymous

I went here with friends and boy was it great! I think that it is really fun having several parts of the mountain to play on; it is as though each part has a different personality. So, you pay for one mountain and you are kind of getting two/three. My friends and I are advanced/intermediate snowboarders and we loved the variable slopes of this mountain resort. Although we didn't really like the food so much, the service was pretty fair. Overall, this was a really fun and rewarding resort to stay at and to ride on. There wasn't even that much ice when we were there, which is really good; I suppose that they keep the sloped fairly well groomed. AWESOME!

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Great East Coast resort
01/23/2008 by: Anonymous

This is one of the larger resorts in the Mid-Atlantic regions. pricey, but you get what you pay for. Plenty of runs, plenty choices for difficulty and plenty of fun. With all the money they are making, they can at least upgrade their shuttles, or add a ski/snowboard rack so we don't have to bring them on the overcrowded bus. There are many activities for those that choose not to ski and great family activities abound.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Pretty nice
12/16/2007 by: Charlie

I went to snowshoe 3 times last winter and each time it was much colder than I expected. The mountain really has a much brisker wind to it than the smaller slopes I have been to in the Indiana area.

There is a pretty large assortment of slopes, although I would suggest there is a pretty limited amount of area for a true beginner to use. Make sure to go when there's some powder because I feel these hills are a little steep without some grip.

Food prices were pretty typical if not slightly less over-priced than some resorts I've been to. service in this area was a bit lacking. (If they give you a small piece of pizza it's too bad, you're stuck with it.)

I have some extra tickets (message me if interested :D ) so I'm definitely going back this year since winter hit a little earlier than it has over recent years.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Great skiing & great accomodations. Definitely worth the drive!
12/12/2007 by: Anonymous

Accommodations and food can be a little pricey.

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Snowshoe rating reviews Most expensive, but the best mountain in the area
01/16/2007 by: Shannon

Very expensive place to go, high prices for both lift and rentals. However, this is the best mountain to ski on if you live inVA area compared to all the other major mountains in VA, PA and WV. So I guess that is why they are allowed to rip us off :)

More Ratings:
Snowshoe Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Snowshoe value rating reviews Value
Snowshoe service rating reviews Service
Snowshoe dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars