Hunter Mountain Reviews

Hunter, NY  US
Contact Info / Directions
back to main page

Recent Hunter Mountain Reviews

9 Hunter Mountain Review(s), post yours and get a chance to win lift tickets.

Post a Review

Overall Averages
Hunter Mountain rating reviews(4.11) Overall
Hunter Mountain skiing terrain rating reviews(3.89) Skiing / Terrain
Hunter Mountain value prices rating reviews(3.89) Value / Prices
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews(3.78) Service
Hunter Mountain food bars rating reviews(3.56) Dining / Bars
Hunter Mountain rating reviews Some good trails.
08/03/2014 by: Dave

Havent been here enough to say I don't like it. However, the time I was there it was packed and really icey. I'll give it another shot this season, but I definitely wasnt a big fan my first go around. Lets see what this season has in store !

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews blue bird ski day!
01/03/2013 by: Anonymous

In spite of the unbelievable crowd and long lift lines, it was a great day at Hunter yesterday! My first day out on the slopes this season and I wasn't disappointed in the least. Lots of thick powder, most trails opened and the lift lines were moving pretty quickly so you could get some good runs in. It was icey here and there - but that's to be expected for early season skiing and riding in the east. Stick to the sides of the slopes and less popular trails and tree skiing for some deep pow. For '12-'13, Hunter has really beefed up their cafeteria selections - the food is awesome, staff is freindly and helpful, and the ski shop in the main lodge has a spectacular array of cool stuff. All and all, a really fun day!

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Worth the ride from PA
01/19/2011 by: CHris

Was impressed at how nice this mountain was this far south. It was a 3hr drive for me but worth it. Trails were well maintained and lift lines short for it being a holiday. Trail ratings were in between the way they rate them up north and how they do in PA. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews awesome
12/30/2009 by: Anonymous

Hunter was awesome I just got done skiing with a buddy of mine that boards. Hunter is making snow like mad and there was lots of snow I had a terrific time and reccomend it. When we went it was -6 at the summit so dress for cold and make sure you check out some of those diamonds they are a ton of fun.

Ben PA

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Nice day Before Christmas
12/26/2009 by: richard

A lot of snow was made and the grooming by and large was very good. The surfqce was a bit better in the early afternoon and there was a good amount of jpowder but as always icy hardpack is there on c ertain of the runs

The food aand value are really excellent, great chili, macaroni and cheese, etc. My wife and I qualified for senior ticket pricing at $35 each, how good is that!!

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Convenient
12/14/2009 by: Nanci Ramage

I live on Long Island so it's convenient for me to get to. The mountain is fairly challenging and they have terrific snow making. They do a pretty good job with grooming. The mountain is not massive so you get bored quickly. They have a fairly good learn to ski/ride program. The trails are narrow so It does get overrun by inconsiderate snow borders on the weekends and the lift lines can be long. The key is to get out there 8:30 and ski as much as you can before the crowd comes out. The lodge is somewhat outdated. It has a 70's feel. The food is pretty good. Overall not bad and like I said it's convenience for me. Just a 3 hr drive.

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Saturday was fun despit no new snow
02/09/2009 by: Gerald Phelan

First I love going to Hunter. I come in from the west and the views of Schoharie creek and the Catskills are always exciting.

The slopes were all groomed so I went strainght to the Cliff down to Racers Edge. I always wonder why the area that brags about its snow making ability does not have new snow made for a weekend. Things softened up as the day got warmer. When the heavy cloud cover cleared into a beautiful sunny day the conditions improved till about noon when the snow started to get heavy. the lines were about 13 minutes long and a great job was done by the staff organizing the quad lift.

Some runs were rather crowded with some skiers who did not have the skills to be on those runs. Then the snow turned real heavy in the bright sun and we decided to look for shade. Jimmy Heulga was the ticket. hardly any skiers and better snow.

We got a decent day in but wondering why there was not new snow and why unqualified skiers are on slopes beyond their ability.

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Great website and info
01/27/2009 by: Anonymous

Coming from the west coast, the website was very easy to navigate thru to find accommodations and ski info. I'm excited to experience the trip this presidents day weekend.

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars

Hunter Mountain rating reviews Popular
01/15/2009 by: Anonymous

One of the most popular and fun mountains in the region. Tends to be crowded on weekend and gets fairly busy even midweek. Lots of interesting trails for all levels beginner through double diamond expert. Though the advanced trails almost always seem to be icy towards the end of the day. Overall worth the time and money to go there(though if you look on line they have a variety of discount cards or special price days)

More Ratings:
Hunter Mountain Skiing Snowboarding rating reviews Skiing/Snowboarding
Hunter Mountain value rating reviews Value
Hunter Mountain service rating reviews Service
Hunter Mountain dining food bars rating reviews Dining / Bars